• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Jaay_

C++ Angle bracket function

This topic is 661 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello! I've been trying to add a component system to my game but I just came across a roadblock! I wanna make it so you can call something like this:

whatever.addComponent<UsersDefinedComponentDerivedFromTheComponentClass>();

and the add component function would do something like this:

void addComponent()
{
    components.push_back(derivedComponent);
}

Sorry, I know this is probably super simple but I'm quite new to coding in C++. Please help and thanks in advance!

Advertisement

I'm sorry but I tried using templates but I couldn't seem to get them working. Could you give me an example?

void addComponent(std::unique_ptr<BaseComponent> component) {
  components.push_back(component);
}
Probably something like that, perhaps with a different type of pointer, depending on how exactly you handle ownership.

Or just do addComponent(BaseComponent* baseComponent). No need to use templates.

Edited by dpadam450

Seems someone wants to build a copy of the Unity entity model :D

This is not part of the question nor the answer but in my opinion this is not the best concept someone could have when not writing another Unreal/Unity like ultimate all-round solution without source code access but that is marginal ...

To rely on the unity concept and what you have written you want to achive with

whatever.addComponent<UsersDefinedComponentDerivedFromTheComponentClass>();

you should realy realy take note of what the people above told you about taking pointers to derived classes. C++ is not C# and when instanciating a class to its base class you usuly need a pointer to it no way arround because without pointer there is no chance to store it in a generic data container like std::vector.