• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
jalway

OpenGL Can't get my GLSL shader to work in Windows

This topic is 807 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello,

I'm a beginner when it comes to shaders.    I'm stuck right at the start, because I can't get the basic shaders to work at all.

Some specs:
I have Windows 7, a four core desktop computer, with 4 gigs of ram.     My graphics card is a Raedon ASUS EAH6670, which supports OpenGL 4.1.    When I check to see what version of OpenGL I have, I get 4.2.

I'm trying the code from a youtube tutorial created by James King. Here is where he tells you where you can download his code.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?annotation_id=annotation_1911550921&feature=iv&src_vid=Dyue3MzJDss&v=KV78e10S0VA

I went to github and downloaded his code here https://github.com/1kingja/graphics

I compiled it and ran it, and right away I get the following errors, which I have not been able to solve:

"Vertex shader failed to compile with the following errors:
ERROR: 0:1 error(#106) Version number not supported by GL2
ERROR: error(#273) 1 compilation errors.  No code generated"

I'm confused by this, because it seems to be saying I have OpenGL version 2, when I'm told elsewhere, both by the glGetString(GL_VERSION) function and by a stand alone application, that I have version 4.2.

Does anyone here have an idea what I'm doing wrong?   

Many thanks for any help!

...John

Advertisement

It could be you have an OpenGL 2 context (even though your card happily supports higher). I looked for the initialisation code but it just uses Glew so I don't really know what version of the context it is creating. It is slightly odd that it doesn't 'just work' seen as this is presumably his code to go along with the video. 

void MeGlWindow::initializeGL()
{
	setMinimumSize(1200, 600);
	setMouseTracking(false);