• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

How much money should I ask for a game development from a publisher?

This topic is 567 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi all!

I'm a software developer from Russia. I've developed a demo-version of a 2D point'n'click adventure game in my spare time. Now I want to offer it to the game publishers hoping they'll fund the further development of the game. I understand, that each case is considered separately, but maybe there is something like a more or less standard indie adventure funding range?

It would be a shame to ask for a completely minimal sum (in my case it's $2000) which will cover only the most necessary expenses and will lead to reducing the amount of levels/animations/etc just in order to not scare off the publishers, while those publishers may consider both $2k and $20k as not such a big deal in both cases (I think that $20k is a maximum amount of money that I'll need).

Also what do you think about my $2-20k range? Maybe $2k is too small in any case, and $20k is too much for an indie-adventure?

Thanks beforehand for your answers!

Advertisement

>> How much money should I ask for a game development from a publisher?

find one first - if you can. if you do, see what they offer. if they ask you how much you need, say 4K, then drop back to 2K if they balk at 4K. but at those dollar levels, self funded is the typical approach.

the big question is how much can the game make? how many units per month at what price point for how many months? that's what a publisher will weigh against any figure you ask for upfront.

and the big questions for how much it can make for small games are: how unique is it? how high quality is it? how much fun is it? how mass appeal is it? how addictive is it?