Sign in to follow this  

Fantasy Construction/Time Management Project (Theoretical Stage)

This topic is 410 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

The basic idea is not revolutionary. This is a game that takes it's core concept directly from Dwarf Fortress or Stonehearth, build a community/town/fortress and survive in an open-ended sandbox environment.

I do want to focus mainly on the programming aspects of the game, like dwarf fortress, though I do NOT want to neglect the ui/controls/quality-of-life aspects that dwarf fortress has.

It should be noted that I have never programmed a game before, and this game is meant to be a project to help me explore these ideas in programming, it is not meant to ever be a commercial hit that will make me rich (or even make me enough money to live on), as it will be entirely free and open source.

The first step is simple, 3d or 2d.

A 3d cubic voxel based environment is not out of the question. The method is tried and tested, documentation for such things is everywhere, and the adjustment for various generation algorithms would be minimal. The problem here, however is performance, as 3d cubic voxel based worlds that are incredibly massive are very cpu-unfriendly. The solution for this would most likely be a 'chunk' system like minecraft, but I assume that would interfere in the 'living economy/environment' that I want to create with factions going to war with each other and such.

A 3d voxel based environment created from some other such shapes is an unknown in my opinion. I have no idea how that would effect world generation algorithms, or gameplay as other than irregular voxel shapes like in 7 days to die (which seems like a totally inefficient way of doing things) I have not seen it done.