Sign in to follow this  

Unity Need help with a Random Number Generator in Unity C#

This topic is 402 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Greetings and Salutations!

I am hard at work on a mobile game project for IOS and have come to a crucial portion of development. The procedurally generated levels. My code is functional at the moment but it seems no matter what I try, I cannot get the Level layouts to vary from stage to stage. Ideally I would seed the RNG with the build index number(or another variable that varies stage to stage but is unique to each stage.) I want each stage's layout to appear random upon first encounter, and be the same each time the stage is entered. Below is the code I am using.  I am new to RNGs and am in my first year of programming, so definitely a novice. I have read up a bit about seeding, cryptographic RNG and various other techniques but everything I find online is outdated information that no longer works or at least I cannot get it to work in the current version of unity. Oh and as the title says I am using C#. Thank you for your help!

public GameObject asteroid10hp;
    public GameObject asteroid20hp;
    public GameObject asteroid30hp;

public int chance10hp;
    public int chance20hp;
    public int chance30hp;

private GameObject chosenGameObject;

void Start()

{
        n = UnityEngine.Random.Range(1, 100);
    }
void SpawnUntilFull()
    {

Transform freePosition = NextFreePosition();
        if (freePosition)
        { 

MoveRandomly();
            RandomAngleGen();
            if (n <= chance30hp) { chosenGameObject = asteroid30hp; }
            else if (n <= chance20hp) { chosenGameObject = asteroid20hp; }
            else if (n <= chance10hp) { chosenGameObject = asteroid10hp; }
                if (n <= spawnChance)
                {