Sign in to follow this  

Code quality at work

This topic is 395 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Don't you feel when you're working on your games, that you make high quality code compared to the shit you see everyday at work ?

I'm a PHP developer and literally EVERY project I worked on had suber-shitty code, with retarded useless/duplicated/unreadable parts. I feel so bad for the developers who made that. I know sometimes the deadlines are shorts and you must rush it. But it feels really tiring to see the same shit after working in 5 different companies.

Don't you think it happens because of employers thinking developement can be done by any beginner ? Developer is often associated with "code monkey" (at least in France) and employers doesn't seems to understand that there are huge quality differences between the complete noob who made his personal website and professionnals with 5+ years of experience...

Edited by xxFuttBucker444

Hah, opposite here.  I will program much sloppier on code for one of my hobby games.  Especially if it's a simple game and not a complex one.  At work we have code reviews before check-in, and have strict coding guidelines, as well as unit, functional and performance tests.

Yeah it depends what the work culture is like. I've worked at places where the average talent was terrible and everyone coded like a high-school drop out from 1994... 

But I've also worked at places where the leads were amazingly good, and everyone strived to do a good job and become a better coder.

I generally write much better code at work, and then write really sloppy "seat of your pants" code on my personal hobby projects :lol:

I see both good and absolutely horrendous code at work. It's mostly just over-engineered though. At work I focus on creating clean, simple, readable and documented code.