Sign in to follow this  
Krisztian

How can I organize a large game project

Hi, I'm new here and I have a question about advancing as a game developer. I'm a hobbyist developer, where I have created several incomplete applications, which were just part of the learning process. So in fact, no completed applications. However, I have gained enough experience to try a large scale game. I don't have a need for programming instructions, except the questions I ask specifically, so I'm fairly self-sufficient. However, I have one very big problem. I'm disorganized. I also found out after some practices, that my main reason for not completing most projects when wanting to, is I get too easily cluttered. So my big question here is to get help on organizing a large programming project. How I would best do this and where I can get additional information or example dev blogs I might be able to read, where others have got past the major hurdles. To better ask my question, i will describe the project and I will be more specific about where I have faults.

I am planning a Commando's Behind Enemy Lines style of gameplay. Large scrolling maps, either top view or isometric (have not decided). The game will be heavily interactive as a goal, so there will be many things to do on a map. My programming question first of all is how I would setup and organize an engine for this. What type of event system, what type of file formats and etc. I would like to program this in C/C++ and SDL or maybe SFML. Prototyping has been easy, which is what led to deciding to do this, but my prototypes are not really playable and lack performance. I will be creating the editors and utilities in .NET, and at this time editors would be for personal use, so this is not a feature, that I plan on releasing. The most important thing is, that it's a hobby project.