Real-time data flow into Unity & VR?

Started by
4 comments, last by Waterlimon 7 years, 3 months ago

Hello!

I am a graphic/UI designer for a group in the Washington DC area. Recently my company has taken a stab into the brand-new world of virtual reality and is currently exploring how VR can add value to our current service offerings.

In an attempt to avoid getting bogged down with details, I will give a brief example of our current project:

Client & Need: Agency that moderates status of assets (vehicles). They need to give weekly briefings and presentations to high-level executives to give a quick and comprehensive visibility into availability of assets and status of repair efforts -- (how many vehicles are ready to go vs. how many are down with technical issues).

Pitch: Create an organizational system in Unity & VR that allows the team and leadership to experience an interactive and visual presentation of vehicle availability. This would include an interactive system that would pull accurate and real-time data from a remote server or CMS, translating it into the visual presentation. This way, the VR experience gives accurate data, without the need to hard code any changed info into Unity every time a change is made to the data.

Why VR you ask? The client already has a 2D version of this system I previously explained. VR elements would allow the client to give an immersive snapshot of the company in a mobile, engaging, and visually compelling way. Who doesn't want to feel like Tom Cruise when they go to work every day?

I would LOVE to get anyone's feedback/thoughts on this idea. Is this possible? Do you see feasibility in developing a tool like this? My primary concern is whether or not Unity can pull data from a server through JSON or AJAX, and interpret it into the application every time it is run.

Advertisement