Sign in to follow this  

Unity Bare-bones physics tutorial for games?

This topic is 368 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey guys, what's up?

I recently discovered both Unity and Duality, and it's got me back into developing games.  I know C# well and my graphic design skills (which are like SNES at best lol) are just right for some old-fashioned 2D awesomeness.  But there's one big problem: physics.  At this point I'm working mainly in Duality, but the problem applies to Unity as well.  I don't know Jack about physics; in college I aced all things language, so learning programming languages was easy - but I s*cked big time at algebra (in fact I had to take a remedial course and almost flunked that).  It was always super-abstract, super-confusing, and super-pointless IMO.  Now 15 years later I'm an experienced programmer - who still doesn't know Jack about physics.  :D

And unfortunately, everything I've found on Google seems to be geared toward aliens - its explanations use so much cryptic lingo that it may as well be written in an extraterrestrial dialect.  I'm sorry, but I don't see how "angular damping", "restitution", "linear velocity" and other Jargonian phrases can be translated into how to make a player walk (forget stop), an enemy gun fire player-seeking missile, or an object continue moving at the same speed after the game has been "un-paused".  All of the game-specific scenarios mentioned above are things I've been able to do when building a game from scratch, and I know a few oversimplifications (mass means weight, velocity means speed, etc.), but in Duality I'm finding I'm completely lost.  I'm not trying to build a Tardis, for cryin' out loud!  :D