What programs/software are good to look at when getting started...?

Started by
12 comments, last by rickvanner 7 years, 3 months ago

Hi, i'll keep this short.

So i'm an aspiring games programmer. I'm learning Unity, C#, C++ and DirectX is the plan.

I was wandering what other things might it be good for me to have a dabble in as a games developer. This doesn't have to be coding specific also.

For example: GIMP, Blender. Maybe I can touch on these slightly just to know how they work or can be used.

What other programs/software comes to mind for someone looking to get into game development?

Also, if you can clarify for me what GIMP and Blender does exactly also ^^, sorry?

Thank you.

Edit: My main focus would be programming but as something to just have a little practice with what do you think would be beneficial for me to take a look at. Or to know how to use.

Advertisement