Developer Looking to Join Team

Started by
3 comments, last by BtySgtMajor 7 years, 3 months ago

Hi there,

Every so often I try to get back into hobby-driven game programming. I'm the CTO of a software company located in Canada and have a lot on the go, but I'd still like to be able to contribute bits here and there.

My background is varied. I've been in the development industry since before I left university, so I have some 16-17 years' of professional programming under my belt, not including another 10+ done as a kid.

Very familiar/comfortable with C/C++, Java, C#, VB.NET. Use plenty of other languages, but those likely aren't too relevant for games programming (does anyone still use Tcl/Tk? In fairness, the last time I used it was in school some ~15 years ago).

I've done work with UE3 (mostly scripting and modding), including some games prototyping/development and modding (created mods for XCOM2).

I've contributed to (or at least sent PRs to) the OpenXCOM project (C++-based).

I'm not looking to contribute to mobile platforms as I have zero experience (or desire) to do so (I can count the number of mobile games I like on one hand, although that Star Wars: Galaxy of Heroes has been done impressively). I'm happy with the good ol' desktop!

I'm not looking for any major roles here. It would just be nice to contribute on a regular basis in whatever development capacity is needed. My ego isn't a factor as I know I still have plenty to learn (isn't that always the case?).

Genres/things I'm interested in include: RPGs, sci-fi in general (if Rogue One didn't seriously re-ignite a fire under Star Wars fans, I don't know what will), platformers, tactical, FPSes (to an extent), milsims, etc.

Thanks for reading!

Advertisement

Hey :)
We are a team building a MMORPG with AAA graphics.
If you wanna join us and need more info e-mail me at: jgakamix@gmail.com or themysteriesofgenesis@gmail.com