• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Mizmoon

Best option for storing item types

This topic is 644 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm rather new to game development and have been thinking about the different options for saving item types in your game. I've seen some people do this, sort of clunky and strictly OOP approach:

class Item {
    /* General item stuff here */
}

class Weapon : Item {
    /* Weapon stuff here */
}

class Sword : Weapon {

}

class Claymore : Weapon {
    /* This is the specific item type */
}

My own preference is doing something more like this:

class ItemType {

/* Stats such as cost, rarity, etc. */

}

class WeaponType : ItemType {

/* Added stats such as damage, attack speed */

}

class Item {

protected ItemType type;

}

class Weapon : Item {

public Weapon(WeaponType type) {

this.type = type;

}

}

Or thirdly - more lightweight, but with the added disadvantage that you have to store redundant information:

static class ItemTypes {

private static float[] damage;

private static float[] cost;

public static float GetCost(int ItemTypeId) {

return cost[ItemTypeId];

}

public static float GetDamage(int ItemTypeId) {

return damage[ItemTypeId];

}

}

Are any of these options to prefer over the other?

Edited by khalvr

Advertisement

There are an enormous number of options, each has their own pros and cons.