• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Mr_Fox

What may cause WarpDevice result different from HardwareDevice?

This topic is 693 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey Guys,

I recently bothered by a strange bug in my program. After trying a lot of different thing I decide to give the warp device a try.

But once I run under warp device, I noticed the result I get is different than HWdevice (one particular series passes' result is unexpected, that pass series has lots of atomic ops on same buf from different passes though). Since it's my first time using WarpDevice, I wish to know what's the guidance on debug on warp device, and what are possible reasons for warp device result different than hwdevice.

Also should we expect warp device result 100% the same as HWdevice to be 'dx bug' free?

Thanks

Edited by Mr_Fox

Advertisement

Hardware drivers are not bug free. Furthermore, some aspects of the D3D interface specifications are somewhat ambiguous, causing each hardware vendor to assume different design intents in some functionality.

The WARP device should be regarded as reference, as it is written by essentially the same guys who spec the interfaces. HW vendors also use it as the reference, but testing cannot cover all possible real-world use cases.

WARP has taken on the role of the reference device now, so by default you should assume that it's behaviour is correct and the HW drivers are buggy... or your app contains undefined behaviour.

I'd start by adding extra resource transitions everywhere... e.g. put a UAV barrier right after every dispatch call for every resource that was used.