• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
kgg

What freelance experience reflects best on an individual when transitioning into the industry?

This topic is 692 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello all, 

To clarify my question in my topic title, I want to transition from freelance / other work into the game production area over the course of a few years. I am a student now that is satisfied to work on freelance projects using my game design skills that I am learning. I currently live in Colorado Springs, which doesn't supply a lot of game development / production work - actually none, zilch, few and far in-between. Personally, I don't want to put up with a drive to Denver each day or move to Boulder yet, so I am going to focus on projects and get some fundamental skills under my belt through freelance work before breaking into the industry. I am currently focused on being a writer / working in publishing, building my networking relationships, and using my skills in game development to build educational components for children in a small company I am building, launching fully once I graduate.