• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
twinspectre

Csharp Unity Awake() function

This topic is 585 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi all, I'm new to Unity and Programming in general, but I learned the basic of Csharp.

I wanted to ask you all and I hope I will get a more constructive answer, I tried to ask this question to other forums and I get the same repsonse.

I understand that Awake start before the Start() functions and following Start() We have Update() and so on.

I would like to know Why We need to use Awake, what I should insert in Awake functions, how it works, what's the deal with Awake, well I would like to understand everything about Awake()

I've read the Unity Documentation about awake, I saw videos about awake and it seems some people don't understand what awake is, because all they do is repeating like a parrot

You can post a script where you can help me to understand this topic

Advertisement

Your question reads like "please write a custom manual for me about awake".

I don't know what the function does, but likely it does a lot, or people wouldn't be confused by it.

Perhaps you should start with telling us what you think it does, and point out where you're confused. That gives a lot more focus on the precise areas where you're wrong or unsure of. It also avoids us spending useless time on explaining loads of stuff you already guessed correctly.

everything I read or watch videos about Awake, I see a parrot (I don't want to be offensive)

I don't have a script, but I'm confused on what's the deal with Awake, how it can benefit, what I can insert in the awake function, is a topic I want to understand very well

Awake is only a convenient way to initialize stuff you need *before* the start method.
That's all there's to it.