Starfield shader pipeline

Started by
10 comments, last by mmixLinus 7 years, 2 months ago

:) Hi folks, first post here :)

I am a seasoned C++ coder working on a "starfield visualizer" (called "Galaxy Navigator 3D" by the way) and I need some help understanding my alternatives regarding shaders.

An early version of the program is up on youtube, but frankly, starfields aren't best friends with video compression :D (Try viewing in full HD). Or you can download it here.

The navigator currently displays a "point list" of more than 2 million points (stars). Each point has an associated 3d position, and a "brightness" (aka Magnitude in astronomy). As you move around in space, the brightness of all stars is recalculated (in my vertex shader) so as you move closer to the stars they become brighter, all according to standard magnitude calculations used in astronomy.

I am using Ogre3D 2.1 as render library, with Direct3D11, HLSL (but I intend on making this cross-platform in due time..).

It currently uses rather simple Vertex, Pixel and Geometry shaders that I have written. It's all simple and "sequential", because I'm still pretty new to this :D

Goals:

1) Really close stars need to be "even brighter" than a point (pixel) at colour (1.0, 1.0, 1.0), which I suppose should be accomplished by issuing textured quads for the closest points.

2) Interactivity: The user should be able to select a point (with a mouse) for some interaction, and also interact by simply hovering with the mouse pointer.