• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Sitatop

Searching programmer for village-builder

This topic is 585 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am a quite experienced pixel artist looking to team up with a programmer to create a unique and well-thought out village-builder. 

Many previous city- and village-builders have put a lot of focus on expanding your settlement and generally gone for "more is better". Expanding is pretty much a no-brainer. We, however, would go for a design that promoted the use of strategic placing and planning - as the population of your village will generally be very small. Each and every single individual is detrimental to success, which means performing (what generally seems like) a basic task like constructing a building needs the perfect timing, as you also want your people to be harvesting resources in all kinds of manners in order to survive.

Here are some quick concepts I drew. Mostly to show off the kind of style I personally would wish to go for. These structures however are a lot simpler designed  than the final product would be.

fhSeTfb.png

aBxwjlg.png

http://imgur.com/a/Jye1M

Advertisement

Hello!  I am Searous.  I'm a "programmer in training", meaning I'm trying to get some more experience before I start working on my own projects.  I like your concept, and you've really got some talent.  

I'm good enough that I could tackle your game concept, though I will need to learn a lot in order to make it happen.  I know how to structure the game, so this shouldn't be detrimental to the development of the game.  I would be best at the core mechanics, such as win/lose conditions, resource gather/management, and anything else that isn't AI or graphics.  I can do HUD though.

My preferred development environment is Java or GameMaker.