• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
nbertoa

How to improve computer graphis problem solving skills?

This topic is 641 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, community.

I have been working as a C++ developer for 7 years. I constantly learn about C++ and computer graphics. I read books and papers from SIGGRAPH, GDC, etc about new techniques to implement, new ways to solve common or new problems in the computer graphics field.

I have a blog where I try to explain what I learned, how I learned and what resources I used to learn it. Also, I have a little DirectX12 framework to apply the new techniques I learn.

I know about the different sorting algorithms we learned in the University (insertion, selection, bubble, merge, quick, and all that stuff), and all the big O complexity of data structures like queues, stacks, red-black trees, hash tables, etc.

I know about how important hardware knowledge is when you want to write software and when you want to define the data based on your problem, based on the memory hierarchy, performance issues, etc.

As you can see, I am trying to orient my career to the computer graphics field, that is why I try to mix theory and implementation.

Recently, I felt curiosity to come back to solve problems like the problems you can find in HackerRank and that kind of websites. They are based in algorithms about String, Dynamic Programming, Big Numbers, Search, Sort, Graph, Greedy, etc.
Of course, practicing this kind of problems will no hurt me, but I was asking myself if that could improve computer graphics problem solving skills significantly or not.