Sign in to follow this  
WakeofMisery

Looking to gain some experience in Game Development

Hello there,

To begin, here's a little about me: I am currently a college student pursuing a degree in Computer Science. I've thought about changing to Game Development many times, but stand still in my tracks in fear of specialization and losing the opportunity to gain a job outside of the gaming industry. I've grown up playing many different video games and have found myself particularly captivated by FPS's and MMORPG's. In fact, I even made money playing video games. Now, I would like to gain some experience in Game Development and see if my childhood hobby can become the foundation of a career. I have yet to experience what type of programming I really enjoy, but I've always been fascinated with the mechanics behind player movement and how NPC's function (Artificial Intelligence). I have touched both the Unreal and Unity game engines before, but never really got into the coding side of it. I have experimented with my own personal story-boarding for fun and honestly think I have some crazy cool ideas, of which many are beyond my personal ability at the moment. One example of this is a post-apocalyptic FPS on a distant planet with factions and a player vs. NPC world (similar to 'Destiny' in a sense).

What I desire: 

•     A team of friendly, interactive developers
  •     An intermediate to advanced programmer to learn from
  •     A group to collaborate and share ideas with
  •     An introduction to Game Development to help me understand what career path I really desire
  •     Advice on where to start, what resources to tap, and what skills to learn that Universities don't teach you

Underlying message: