• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

DX11 DX11 - Write to Texture2D UAV, read from Texture2D SRV

Hello,
If anybody could please offer me some advice, I would be very grateful.

Currently, if it worked ideally: I write to a UAV Texture2D in the Pixel Shader. I then pass that Texture2D as an SRV into another shader to be read.
However currently, all that displays is the colour white that I clear the UAV with when I call the following line:

const float zero[4] = { 1, 1, 1, 1 };
DX11AppHelper::_pImmediateContext->ClearUnorderedAccessViewFloat(mUAV, zero);

I am currently rendering a fullscreen quad for the testing of this. Apologies if this forum post is done badly, I've never done one before.

Here is the the initialisation code for the Texture2D, the UAV and the SRV:

D3D11_TEXTURE2D_DESC dstex;
ZeroMemory(&dstex, sizeof(dstex));
dstex.Width = DX11AppHelper::_pRenderWidth;
dstex.Height = DX11AppHelper::_pRenderHeight;
dstex.MipLevels = 1;
dstex.ArraySize = 1;
dstex.Format = DXGI_FORMAT_R8G8B8A8_UNORM;
dstex.SampleDesc.Count = 1;
dstex.Usage = D3D11_USAGE_DEFAULT;
dstex.BindFlags = D3D11_BIND_SHADER_RESOURCE | D3D11_BIND_UNORDERED_ACCESS;
dstex.CPUAccessFlags = 0;
dstex.MiscFlags = 0;

if (FAILED(DX11AppHelper::_pd3dDevice->CreateTexture2D(&dstex, nullptr, &mOctreeStructure)))
{
return E_FAIL;
}

// Create the render target views.
D3D11_UNORDERED_ACCESS_VIEW_DESC  UAVDesc;
ZeroMemory(&UAVDesc, sizeof(UAVDesc));
UAVDesc.Format = DXGI_FORMAT_R8G8B8A8_UNORM;
UAVDesc.ViewDimension = D3D11_UAV_DIMENSION_TEXTURE2D;
UAVDesc.Texture2D.MipSlice = 0;

if (FAILED(DX11AppHelper::_pd3dDevice->CreateUnorderedAccessView(mOctreeStructure, &UAVDesc, &mUAV)))
{
return E_FAIL;
}

// Create the resource view.
D3D11_SHADER_RESOURCE_VIEW_DESC SRVDesc;
ZeroMemory(&SRVDesc, sizeof(SRVDesc));
SRVDesc.Format = DXGI_FORMAT_R8G8B8A8_UNORM;
SRVDesc.ViewDimension = D3D11_SRV_DIMENSION_TEXTURE2D;
SRVDesc.Texture2D.MostDetailedMip = 0;
SRVDesc.Texture2D.MipLevels = 1;