Sign in to follow this  
starfruit64

SDL_TTF crashes c++ program?

Hello, this is my first time using this forum so if im doing something wrong please tell me. I am very new to programming and I have been playing around with SDL for a while. I am now trying to display text on the screen using SDL_ttf. Using an internet tutorial, I have made a "Display text" function in my Screen class. Before I added the code my program ran fine. Now it crashes, even if my main function is blank. My ide shows me no error. When I try to run the program in windows cmd i get the error: "The program can't start because SDL2_ttf.dll is missing from your computer. Try reinstalling the program to fix this problem."  This is strange because I can see "libSDL2_ttf.dll.a" in my SDL2 folder. 

I can see "libSDL2_ttf.dll.a" in my SDL2 folder. 

'*.dll.a' is not a dynamic '.dll' library.  If library ends with .a - then this library is linked statically. In your case it's .dll.a, means it's import library, it tells your compiler's linker to search for actual function in some .dll file, linked later dynamically, by system. You still need libSDL2_ttf.dll

I can see "libSDL2_ttf.dll.a" in my SDL2 folder. 

'*.dll.a' is not a dynamic '.dll' library.  If library ends with .a - then this library is linked statically. In your case it's .dll.a, means it's import library, it tells your compiler's linker to search for actual function in some .dll file, linked later dynamically, by system. You still need libSDL2_ttf.dll

This fixed the  "The program can't start because SDL2_ttf.dll is missing from your computer. Try reinstalling the program to fix this problem." but now I get a "The application was unable to start correctly (0xc000007b). Click OK to close the application." error, followed by a crash. Again, my main code is blank, and threes a single class with a header and .cpp (That I haven't even included).

now I get a "The application was unable to start correctly (0xc000007b).