Sign in to follow this  

What inputs to support for PC game, keyboard, controller, or both

So I am an indie developer, working on a third person action adventure-like game in Unity. So far, while developing the game, I've only been playing and testing it with a keyboard. However, now I want to add support for a controller (Xbox One for example) as well. My question is, should I support inputs with a keyboard and a controller both? I personally am a console gamer and I only play games with a controller, so that is my preferred inputs scheme. In addition, supporting only one control scheme would reduce my development effort. I do realize though that, since the game in question is a PC game, I would think a lot of gamers would want to use a keyboard.

What is the prevailing design philosophy on this? Do most players on Steam, for example, prefer a keyboard? Would there be any harm in only supporting a controller?

my opinion is keyboard/mouse.  there may be a case where a controller would be better but I cant think of one, at least not where I would prefer to use a controller.  I am partial towards strategy (RTS or TBS) games though.

I would guess that most PC gamers would not have a gamepad, so you would be restricting your audience by requiring one. I have one plugged in but almost never use it :)

I've worked on games that require them before, and it causes endless complaints and hate mail...

Supporting both KB/Mouse and XInput will make most people happy. Having configuable controls will make 99% happy. Adding direct input support will get you that last 1% :lol:

Keyboard/Mouse, but always make Gamepad an option.

Depending on the game, it may be significantly easier to play the game with a controller. So you'll eliminate some bitching and moaning in advance if this is the case.