• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
NikiTo

Checking architecture not working for me

This topic is 516 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

(if the error is pity, please, forgive me, I am new to C++)

This code:

D3D12_FEATURE_DATA_D3D12_OPTIONS tiers;
if (FAILED(adapterList[i].Device->CheckFeatureSupport(D3D12_FEATURE_D3D12_OPTIONS, &tiers, sizeof(tiers)))) {
    std::cout << "Failed to query the options for adapter " << i << "." << std::endl;
}
else {
    std::cout << "Options query for adapter " << i << " SUCCEEDED" << std::endl;
}

D3D12_FEATURE_DATA_ARCHITECTURE arch;
if (FAILED(adapterList[i].Device->CheckFeatureSupport(D3D12_FEATURE_ARCHITECTURE, &arch, sizeof(arch))))
{
    std::cout << "Failed to query the architecture for adapter " << i << "." << std::endl;
}
else {
    std::cout << "Architecture query for adapter " << i << " SUCCEEDED" << std::endl;
}

is giving me this output:

Options query for adapter 0 SUCCEEDED
Failed to query the architecture for adapter 0.
Options query for adapter 1 SUCCEEDED
Failed to query the architecture for adapter 1.
(the shown code is inside a for-loop)

(maybe helpful details:
I read there is a D3D12_FEATURE_DATA_ARCHITECTURE1 but VS 2017 intellisense is not detecting it. I am using Intel C++ compiler through VS)

Edited by NikiTo

Advertisement

From what I can see, the only thing you seem to be missing is setting the Node Index on arch, think it should default to a value though it may not o.O.

try setting an arch.NodeIndex to the same value as the physical adaptor, cause thats the only thing I can see, though at work atm so not looking too hard :P

Correct, you're passing an uninitialized struct which has in/out data. If you aren't supporting multi-node, then you should at least set the node index to 0.

Thank you, people!