• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Fletch F Fletch

OpenGL Drawing pixel by pixel to framebuffer

This topic is 399 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi all,

I recently started playing around with a little bit of old school software rendering. I'm trying to start from scratch before I actually make the move to OpenGL/D3D or whatever.

I wrote my little demo in C# as a Windows Forms app, but I've come to realize that that is far from ideal. My program works by writing to an internal framebuffer (int[]) and then copying this data into a standard .NET Bitmap that is displayed as the background image in the form. This feels all kinds of wrong though, so I've been looking into a more "modern" approach.

I looked at Monogame and although the whole game loop, input handling etc seems very nice, it doesn't appear to have a provision for writing a pixel directly to a texture/framebuffer and then displaying this. And I get the feeling there's a reason there is no such method. I read somewhere that a modern way of doing 2D rendering was to render to a texture and then to display this texture on a 3D quad (with orthographic projection) but how is that different?

Can anyone point me in the right direction? I just want an array of integers that I can manipulate however I want and then display.

Thanks

Advertisement