• Advertisement

Simple Crossword Puzzle Game

Hi guys, I'm trying to make a crossword puzzle game for practice.

Sorry but I've no idea on where to start.

It should be basic game where the user must enter the word in the correct place and nothing else. (I am sure you know how to play crosswords!)
I have to export it to Android and (if possible) to iOS.

What engine would I want use?

I thought to use Unity in order to develop it but I'm not very good with it (and, honestly, I don't like it that much)
How is Unreal Engine 4 with Basic 2D Games like this one? If I could use UE4 it would be better because I know more C++ than C#. 

I also thought about making this app with a "basic" IDE such as Android Studio (and) xCode but I would have to do the work twice and I want to avoid that if possible.

Does anyone know if there is a library or something useful for making crossword games?

Thank you very much for the answers and have a nice day!

I apologize for the bad English but I'm not American/English.

Edoardo

Edited by Edoardo396

Advertisement

You will generally be more efficient working with tools you know better. So while you say you aren't very good with Unity, you're still likely better at it than Unreal (as it sounds like you've never used Unreal before). 

In Unreal this is something you'd probably build entirely in Blueprints, without ever needing to touch the C++ aspects of the engine.

Given that you want to support two fairly divergent platforms (iOS and Android), I think Unity is probably your best bet. The experience you gain building this game with Unity will, if nothing else, improve your ability to use Unity.