deltaKshatriya

How Much Do You Program Outside of Work?

So as the title of the thread implies, I'm curious how much people program outside of work related programming. I myself don't work in game dev, but I work as a software developer. I've found that I'm not super interested in doing more programming once I'm done with work for the day. I don't have any programming related side projects. I cannot do more programming after spending most of my day programming. I prefer to do other things, such as 40k, or 3d art, or even just read/watch TV. I know some people who, conversely, go home after work only to dive into a side project and program more.

So I'm curious about people here. How much do people program outside of work? Why/why not? Specifically though, I'm curious if this is just a personal preference or not.

As a note, this thread might be a bit skewed towards non indie devs, but feel free to share your experiences regardless.

Edited by deltaKshatriya

Well, I work 9-6, once im done with getting home and cooking etc for the day its usually pretty late for me so I tend to spend my weekday evenings just relaxing a little.

Though on the weekends I do tend to work on coding projects / reading through coding books etc, mostly just because there are certain things I want to learn and work on.

So my time is sorta split between the.. small amounts I have during the week where I just wanna relax, and weekends where I actually have time to commit to working on projects properly without feeling burnt out ;p

Depends on how much I enjoy the programming I am doing at work, and of course, how busy things are at home.  I've found that the less satisfied I am with my programming at work, the more time I find myself devoting to side projects.

42 minutes ago, ApochPiQ said:

That is definitely a ton. My question for you then is do you ever feel burnt out by that much coding? Or that it's taking up too much time? How much time do you devote to these projects?