• Advertisement
  • Popular Tags

• Popular Now

• Advertisement
  • Similar Content

• By jsquare89
      I am somewhat new to game development and trying to create a basic 3d engine. I have managed to set up a first person camera and it seems to be working fine for the most part. While I am able to look up, down, left and right just fine the camera is constrained to the mouse movement in the window (i.e when the mouse reaches edges of the window it discontinues camera rotation and mouse is out of window bounds. I tried to use SDL_WarpMouseInWindow(window, center.x,center.y) but when I do this then it messes up the camera and the camera is stuck, even though there is some slight movement of the camera, it keeps going back to the center.
      void Camera::UpdateViewByMouse(SDL_Window &window, glm::vec2 mousePosition)
      {
      float xDistanceFromWindowCenter = mousePosition.x - ((float)1024 / 2) ;
      float yDistanceFromWindowCenter = ((float)720 / 2) - mousePosition.y;
      yaw = xDistanceFromWindowCenter * cameraRotationSpeed;
      pitch = yDistanceFromWindowCenter * cameraRotationSpeed;
      SDL_WarpMouseInWindow(&window, 1024 / 2, 768 / 2); }
      i’ve been stuck on this for far too long. any help would be much appreciated
      i have also tried relative mouse movement,  and .xrel and .yrel to avail. polling mouse state with sdl_event. I do also know that SDL_WarpMouseInWindow makes change to event and have tried also ignore and reenabling to no avail
    • By smit patil
      I am at the first year of diploma and I am planing to make a nice small 2D or 3D First Person Shooter game . As I mentioned I am just at first year in IT ,I Dont know much about game developing but I do know lots of more things that normal 1st and even 3rd year students . 
      I  Know Java,C,C++ and little bit of python and GTK+ framework . I am currently trying to learn SDL and Qt with C++. I will also happily learn new technology if required to make games.