• Advertisement
VietNN

DX12 [D3D12 SOLVED] Could not render triangles, no error output (debug enabled)

This topic is 427 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi everyone,

I am new to DX12, I download sample project from MSDN and it can run and draw triangles successfully.

But when I create new project and copy code from MSDN sample (Hello Triangles Project). I do not know why it could not render anything to screen except clearing the screen with blue color.

Could you have a look at my code to see what problem is... I got stuck here for 2 days.

TestD3D12.7z

Edited by VietNN

Advertisement

One thing that stands out to me:

struct Vertex {
	XMFLOAT3 position;
	XMFLOAT4 color;
};

Here you have a float3 for position; which is matched by your input-signature declaration.

PSInput VSMain(float4 position : POSITION, float4 color : COLOR)
{
	PSInput result;

result.position = position;
	result.color = color;

return result;
}

But the Vertex-shader receives a float4. Even if this were technically legal (not sure in DX12), this probably means that the w-component is 0.0f, while it should actually be 1.0f when output from the vertex-shader w/o any persective transform, as is the case for you. I'd suggest trying:

PSInput VSMain(float3 position : POSITION, float4 color : COLOR)
{
	PSInput result;

result.position.xyz = position;
        result.position.w = 1.0f;
	result.color = color;

return result;

and see if this works.

Where are you setting your viewport and scissor rectangle? (m_viewport and m_scissorRect)

This is exactly what happens when you copy from multiple sources and smash it all together without reading things through.

Anyway, it will work once you initialize those

Edit: