C++ For Absolute Beginner

Started by
12 comments, last by RobertCunningham 6 years, 8 months ago

Hello again! I'm looking for a really good place (or books, but the internet would be my preference) where a COMPLETE beginner with NO programming knowledge can learn to understand and code C++ (if this helps, I'm using UE4 for my game development needs). Thanks!

Also, just as a side-note question, is the process of debugging the same as programming? Curious as to how that works. Thanks again!

Advertisement
44 minutes ago, Writersface13 said:

I'm looking for ... COMPLETE beginner with NO programming knowledge can learn to understand and code C++

"Accelerated C++" by Koenig and Moo.  It should get you started quickly. It is a little dated, but still one of the best.

"C++ Primer" (5th Edition) by Lippman, Lajoie, and Moo if Accelerated C++ is too fast. This is slightly more current.

44 minutes ago, Writersface13 said:

Also, just as a side-note question, is the process of debugging the same as programming?

Debugging is finding errors in the code and correcting them.

The process is different, just like editing text is different from writing text.  Before either can be done well you must be literate. It is difficult to read code and search for errors if you don't know how to write and interpret code in the first place.

Thanks a bunch! Would you know of any online resources or tutorials that may be of help as well?

I would second C++ Primer (I would avoid the closely named book C++ Primer Plus - it's not from the same series) Accelerated C++ is also a very good book as well.

You will pretty much need the following to get started:

(Took this list online from SFML - It's a good reference)

• Compiling, building
  • Basic program structure (main(), header includes ...)
  • Basic data types
  • Composite data types
  • Control structures (if, for, while ...)
  • Basic functions, function signatures
  • Function parameter passing
  • Classes and general OOP