• Advertisement
  • Popular Tags

• Popular Now

• Advertisement
  • Similar Content

• By ethancodes
      I've been doing game development for a few years now. I recently finished my degree in game development and programming, I'm a software developer full time and do my game dev stuff on the side. One thing that has kept me very curious ever since I took a graphics programming course in college, was whether or not it was really still relevant in the game industry. What I mean by this is to a team who is not going to build their own engine, a team who is going to use something like Unity or UE4 or any other number of game engines out there, is it really necessary for them to be able to program graphics on their own? I wonder the same about physics? It seems like these game engines do all the heavy lifting for us when it comes to graphics and physics. Obviously a basic understanding of them will greatly improve your ability to master what can be done with the engine, but to have several dedicated team members to graphics, is that necessary? Again, I understand that we need these people to build engines or if we want to modify the current physics or graphics of an engine. However I am talking about a team that is simply using a preexisting engine as is. Just curious as to opinions on this, especially from those who have worked on games professionally. Thanks!
    • By xiaohan wen
      If you have CROWDFUNDED the development of your game, which of the following statements do you agree with?
      1. I went out of my way to try to launch my game by the estimated delivery date
      2. I made an effort to launch my game by the estimated delivery date
      3. I was not at all concerned about launching my game by the estimated delivery date
      Hi there! I am an academician doing research on both funding success and video game development success.