Alberth

Why a confirmation on "mark all topics read"?

Recommended Posts

We seem to have a confirmation box on the "mark all topics read" link since some short time. A box pops up and asks "do you want all topics marked read?".

What's the purpose of this? Do we really need this silly stuff? I just clicked the link saying the exact same thing!

 

Edited by Alberth

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I quite hate these silly

"If you press yes, the computer will forget about the posts you have not read yet. This may cause confusion if new posts are added at a later date that respond to the posts you have not read."

nonsense that nobody ever reads, and just presses "ok" a second time.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's quite a common UI pattern to ask for confirmation before carrying out an irreversible action, in case the button was clicked/pressed by accident.

Given noone else seems to have an issue with this particular confirmation, I'm afraid you'll probably just have to live with this one sorry!

Thanks for the feedback!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 8/13/2017 at 10:01 AM, jbadams said:

Given noone else seems to have an issue with this particular confirmation, I'm afraid you'll probably just have to live with this one sorry!

To be honest, it annoys the hell out of me as well, though I do understand the reasoning behind it.  What would be nice, though probably not feasible, is a setting that can be turned on or off which disables such confirmations.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now