Martin1999

Need help in creating quest/mission/task.

Martin1999    103

Hello, 

I am a novice game developer. Currently working on a small game project made by myself. I can deal with graphics, but with coding and blueprints I have some problems. All that I need is to make a simple quest system, nothing too complex. I will try to explain what do I want to make and if someone knows any tutorials, forum threads, tips, pieces of advice I would be very grateful.

P.S. I am making a FP game, not a shooter.

So basically: 

1) Player walks to an NPC or other thing like taskboard.
2) Finds an available quest, takes it.
3) The mission is to find 3 objects: A, B, C.( A HUD displaying these objects for player)
4) Player found object A. This object disappears from the HUD.
5) Player found all the remaining objects, delivers the, to a certain point, the quest is completed.
6) After completion, another quest is unlocked and can be activated.

A good example of what I want is the newly made game Ben The Exorcist, where player needs to find some items in the house and then place them to finish the exorcism process. 

I know that I am maybe asking for too much, but I don't even know where to start or how to start. As I said I can easily make a nice looking map, objects, entities, somehow animate it and so on, but I really need a lot of help in the "coding/blueprint sphere". 

Cheers,
Martin

Alberth    9508

I'd start with working through some unreal bluieprint toturials. That should give you some ideas of how things work.

After you did that, come back to your game to see how to apply what you have learned.

You may also try to find a dedicated unreal forum for blueprint users. This site is more a general public which may not have all detailed blueprint knowledge that you need.

Martin1999    103
9 minutes ago, Alberth said:

I'd start with working through some unreal bluieprint toturials. That should give you some ideas of how things work.