Education advise for total beginner

Hello. I'm seeing this sort of questions are asked frequently here but here we go. 

I'm interested in a career of game development but I'm not sure what way would be wise to choose. Eventually I want to work in a studio designing games.

I haven't attended any university education. 30 year old and living in italy. 

I see there are some bachelor programs for game design. Also there are bachelor degrees for computer sciences. And there's web education. Considering these programs are in public universities, these are what i can afford.

A degree would take at least take 3 years to complete, not my first choice.

I understand that it's best to learn a language. Does this mean learning any language (easiest one) and then working from there is an idea?

I do not have almost any coding skills. I have done some 3d modeling in the past but still. What would be your advice for beginning?

You don't need to know a programming language to be a game designer, although for some roles it can be a plus. 

Have you tried downloading tools like Unity or Unreal and using them to build out a game idea you have?

Yeah, unity. But i gave up on it after frustration. I would give it another try but i am reading that even though it is possible to make a game on it without coding, you are way better off with having it coded instead in order to fix bugs and everything

What do you mean with game designer btw? Do you mean it is enough to have knowledge of one subject such as modelling would be enough for this

No. If you want to be a game designer you need to have knowledge of game design. This is a knowledge domain that is distinct from the ability to create art or to write code. Having some understanding of how to write code or produce art is helpful, but it's not necessary.