• Advertisement
  • Popular Tags

• Popular Now

• Advertisement
  • Similar Content

• By AlphaWolfKing
      Hi everyone, as summer approaches and the college semester comes close to ending. I want some books or resources you would reccomend to a beginner video game programmer.
      On a side note, what are the important calculus topics that are applied to programming video games?
    • By RenderPixel
      Hello all. This is my first post in the forums here.  
      I am currently an artist in the game industry. I have been working as an artist and/or art director for the past 12 years.  I have been working in ue4 for the past several years and have become reasonably practiced at developing custom materials. My focus has shifted, quite a bit, from making art content to understanding the render pipe better. I recently purchased some books on directx and learned to develop basic shaders in hlsl. I am learning the math and physics as I go. As I learn, I am realizing that I have a real passion for this. My goal, initially, was to learn to be a shader programmer. However, as I learn more, I grow curious about what it would take to make a full transition into becoming a render engineer. 
      I am curious where to start. I am piecing this all together as I learn at the moment. I.e render pipe, math, syntax, etc. Should I instead learn this in some particular order or fashion? Is schooling necessary to be successful in this endeavor? 
      This is is basically a general inquisition.  This could be a major career change for me and I am looking to get started the right way. 
      Any help is greatly appreciated. 
    • By balsa1
      Questions for women working in the video game industry:
      1. What education you had before working in the video game industry?
      2. Did you ever experience any sort of discrimination in the workplace?
      3. What is/was your job role in the video game industry?
      4. Why did you choose to work in the video game industry?