C++ C++ : 1st Person Melee Combat in

This game's 1st person mechanics really caught my eye.  Mordhau Would anyone know the beginnings of the programming required for combo moves from the player?  I understand this is a general question and has a broad answer, but any advice from someone who has programmed something similar on the PC is appreciated. 

Note: I intend to start with the Unreal engine.  I am very early in C++ (I worked as a concept artist previously so all my game's UI/World mechanics have filled notebooks upon notebooks without programming to realize them).

This is my first post on this forum, please excuse me and notify me if I am posting in the incorrect area.  

Thank you

To program combo moves, you'll probably need to start with a queue data structure: i.e. as the player presses buttons, you'll want to enqueue those key/button presses, along with a timestamps of when the key/button was pressed. That will allow you to evaluate whether or not the player entered a "do something cool" key combo, and if so, you can then kick off some action, such as the "animate the character doing something cool" animation.

Bear in mind, I've never used unreal engine, so I don't know the particulars of what do with it. But generally speaking, combo moves call for a queue.

Okay thankyou.

Started browsing through Game Programming Patterns by Nystrom and found this page on queues with audio files.  http://gameprogrammingpatterns.com/event-queue.html

Is this similar to what you mentioned?  

(You can assume this is like reading Elizabethan English backwards with abbreviations for me right now)

That article is a part of the solution. The article is about sending data around between systems.  Usually in games there is an event system that any code can listen to which says what has happened.  That's the system described.