• Advertisement
  • Popular Tags

• Popular Now

• Advertisement
  • Similar Content

• By Sol R
      Hi guys, I`m starting to learn game development and I'm aiming it for VR development. Right now I can`t afford any VR equipment so until I can, I want to start learning whatever principles needed that will follow with me to VR when I will get it. I started learning the basics of C# and a little bit (play around) with Unity. I have a lot of mess in my head and I want to make it efficient as possible because I`m self-learn all of it. I want to make an efficient syllabus to follow, milestones, to know what I learned and what else should I learn and be as efficient as possible at it. After I will know my route, I will polish my plan more specifically. What I need is the information of what exactly I need (and can) to learn right now for VR development, in what order, and recommended resources for it would be much appreciated.   Thanks a lot in advance. Sol University
    • By samoan62
      I was wondering if anyone here has experience with VR development for Unity. Having previous Unity experience, I'd prefer to stick with Unity but am open to other engines. It's something I've been interested in, and I'm wondering which community/technology is the easiest to use.
      An Oculus Rift costs around $400, so I'd rather not invest money in that if it doesn't have a big community and support behind it. Another option I was looking at was Google Cardboard for Unity. The guy here has a pretty good starter tutorial on VR dev for Android and the headset is only ~$20 and the Moga controller is only another 20 or so. This is definitely the most economical option, but I'd rather not go down that path if no one uses this technology or if VR on Android is crappy or something. 
      The VR community doesn't seem like it's that big, so I'm having a hard time getting a feel for what's popular and what direction the technology is going. 
    • By GameDev.net