• Advertisement
Apollo13

3D D3D9 - How to linearize depth buffer obtained from closed source application

This topic is 411 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey guys, I hope for help on the following problem - hopefully an easy one for you, but I am an absolute beginner...

I want to simulate a Lidar in a closed source D3D9 game (ArmA2-based I think), meaning I want to get the pixel positions in view space. For that I intercept the D3D9 calls (via proxy dll) and retrieve the handle to the depth buffer texture (R32F) which I have identified .  I've attached an example of the contents of this depth buffer (just StretchRect'ed the contents to the back buffer) and the corresponding rendered image.

Now what I am trying to do is transform the depth buffer values to view space but I keep failing on this. I am trying to do it as described in this stackoverflow post (the only change I made after I saw that it does not work is to delete the first line 'z = depth*2.0 - 1.0' and instead directly using the depth value, because as far as I know the projection matrix(from MSDN: https://msdn.microsoft.com/de-de/library/windows/desktop/bb147302(v=vs.85).aspx,IC511470.png, Q = Zf/(Zf-Zn) )is already adjusted to output a depth in [0,1] - and thus should also be directly usable in inverted form for the transformatino from clip space to view space)

I should mention that I can query the game API for the view frustum values (left + right angle, top + bottom angle, near and far plane), but as you can see a large part of the depth buffer is black

So here are my questions: