• Advertisement

I was wondering how combat is done in games like Shadow of War, Zelda: Breath of the Wild, Witcher 3 or any other rpg? Because i can't really think of any other way then to do it with animations. I am fairly new to gameplay programming and programming in general with no Work experience yet. Just curious how its done in AAA games or even any other way people do it. Hope this is the right Forum to ask this in.

Thanks for any replies!

Advertisement

"how combat is done" is a very broad question. Is there anything specific you want to know?

Usually RPG combat follows these rough lines:

1. Player clicks or presses something to initiate an attack.
  2. The attack starts playing an animation.
  3. The hit is detected via one of the following methods:
    1. a hitbox on the character or weapon contacts the enemy due to the animation moving it
    2. a specific frame in the animation is reached, which signifies the 'hit' time
    3. a certain period of time has elapsed, again indicating it's time to register a hit
  4. The system decides whether the hit deals damage or not, and how much
  5. The effects of the hit and damage are applied to the target, e.g. ragdoll physics

You can choose which of the different hit detection methods to use based on the trade-offs you want to make. If you use hitboxes then you have to be sure your animations are correct and that the hitboxes are adequately sized to make contact during a fight. (This is harder than you might think, especially when trying to get a 1st person viewpoint to work well.) If you use timers, then you have to be sure that your animations match them closely otherwise things will look inconsistent. And a specific frame in the animation is a compromise method.