Questions on buffers and their lifetime in GPU memory

Started by
10 comments, last by chiffre 6 years, 5 months ago

Heads up: this question is more theoretical than practical. My (minute) knowledge about D3D11 is self taught, so please take any premise I make with additional care. I invite everyone to correct anything I say.  Now to the actual post.

I have a question about the lifetime of a D3D11_USAGE_DEFAULT buffer, used with a D3D11ShaderResourceView as a StructuredBuffer, in GPU memory. At first I need to make sure I am understanding the difference between DEFAULT and DYNAMIC buffers correctly. The way I understand the difference between DEFAULT and DYNAMIC buffers comes from here:

D3D11_USAGE_DEFAULT

D3D11_USAGE_DEFAULT tells the API to store my buffer in memory that is fast to access for the GPU. This does absolutely not guarantee (?) it is located in VRAM, however it is more likely to be located there. I can update the buffer (partially) by using UpdateSubResource. Here is some info from the previously mentioned thread.

On 27.11.2015 at 6:41 PM, Matias Goldberg said:

When you use UpdateSubresource, you rely on DX and the driver to schedule an asynchronous transfer. If the data to upload is too big (or you have already exhausted the internal schedule queue), DX will stall. This is very bad for performance.

Because the pointer you provide to UpdateSubresource maybe freed at an undisclosed moment, DX runtime/driver can't assume it won't be freed before the async transfer will happen, and thus needs to copy your data to a temporary internal buffer.

Therefore:

• Best case scenario: DX memcpy's your data CPU->GPU. At a later moment the DX will perform a GPU->GPU transfer. That's two  memcpys.
  • Common case scenario: DX memcpy's your data CPU->CPU. At a later moment the DX will perform a CPU->GPU and immediately afterwards a GPU->GPU transfer. That's three memcpys.