TobyTheRandom

Are C++ and C# a double edged sword for every game developer?

Dear all game developer out there,

Should I learn C++ or C# first before getting my hands dirty with any game engines because I saw a lot of posts talking about how these two computer languages (object-oriented language) is quite useful for making games. And where can I learn it step by step as a complete beginner

Thank you

Hello,

Although I work as C++ programmer, for making games I personally prefer C#, since the development in C# is much faster and easier and for smaller games you dont need the fastest language arround - in C# you can still make 3D games with nice realistic graphics running hundreds of fps.

I've enjoyed using C# and monogame/xna to develop independently, and if you are looking for a good starting point without having to spend a ton of money on books, then check this out http://www.introprogramming.info/english-intro-csharp-book/

I've gone through it and it teaches quite a bit about the fundamentals of programming, but if you are planning on using Unity then it may be overkill to learn so much about the fundamentals.

14 minutes ago, kostile said:

I've gone through it and it teaches quite a bit about the fundamentals of programming, but if you are planning on using Unity then it may be overkill to learn so much about the fundamentals.

Learning the fundamentals is essential if you have plans to be a programmer.  Without them tracking down bugs is a task in frustration and often leads to people giving up.

On 11/3/2017 at 12:39 AM, TobyTheRandom said:

Should I learn C++ or C# first before getting my hands dirty with any game engines

Yes

or No

possibly Maybe

Seriously, you've given us absolutely nothing to base an answer on.   So you can pick whichever of the above two you prefer.

Both languages, and many more, are used in the industry.  

• C++ - used for systems-level work, many game engines, and other code.  The primary language for Unreal development.