GameDevCoder

DX11 I need to learn DirectX. The examples for Introduction to 3D Programming with DirectX 11 by Frank D Luna does not work. Can anyone help me

I have to learn DirectX for a course I am studying. This book https://www.amazon.co.uk/Introduction-3D-Game-Programming-Directx/dp/1936420228 I felt would be great for me to learn from.

The trouble is the examples which are all offered here http://www.d3dcoder.net/d3d11.htm . They do not work for me. This is a known issue as there is a link on the examples page saying how to fix it. I'm having difficulty with doing this though. This is the page with the solution http://www.d3dcoder.net/Data/Book4/d3d11Win10.htm.

The reason why this problem is happening, the book was released before Windows 10 was released. Now when the examples are run they need slight fixes in order for them to even work. I just can't get these examples working at all.

Would anyone be able to help me get the examples working please. I am running Windows 10 also just to make this clear, so this is why the examples are experiencing the not so desired behaviour. I just wish they would work straight away but there seems to be issues with the examples from this book mainly because of it trying to run from a Windows 10 OS.

On top of this, if anyone has any suggestions with how I can learn DirectX 11 i would be most grateful. Thanks very much. I really would like to get them examples working to though from the book I mentioned.

Look forward to reading any replies this thread receives.

GameDevCoder.