• Advertisement

int i = 208;

float f = (float)i;

Despite i know you will rant about that code please tell me if i will be 208 or i may get something close to 208?

Cheers

Edited by WiredCat
Semantics

Advertisement

For whole numbers that are sufficiently close to zero, you will get the exact number, i.e. 208.0 in this case.

To my knowledge, although I could be wrong in some contexts (I'm no expert), you should never check for exact values when dealing with floating point values - always check for ranges. Why is this relevant, you might ask? Because if what I said is true, then whether or not (float)i returns exactly 208.0... should be completely uninteresting to you.

(Since your question was already answered, I thought I'd just respond to a possible reason why you asked it, to begin with.)

Edited by Madolite

On 11/21/2017 at 3:57 PM, Madolite said:

To my knowledge, although I could be wrong in some contexts (I'm no expert), you should ...

32-bit floating point numbers, called "float" in C, C++, C#, and various other languages, can accurately represent 23 bits of precision, plus another bit for sign. So they should work with any number from +/- 2^23, or about 8.38 million to -8.38 million.

Converting from base ten to floating point and back to base ten is only guaranteed for 6 decimal digits precision, although it should work up to that range of 8.38. Beyond that it cannot fit exactly within those 23 bits.  That conversion applies just as much to 7654321 as it does to 0.007654321 or 765432100000000.