• Advertisement

Boid's algorithm doesn't work perfectly

Hello,

I have a Bachelor project on topic "Implenet 3D Boid's algorithm in OpenGL". All OpenGL issues works fine for me, all rendering etc. But when I started implement the boid's algorithm it was getting worse and worse. I read article (http://natureofcode.com/book/chapter-6-autonomous-agents/) inspirate from another code (here: https://github.com/jyanar/Boids/tree/master/src) but it still doesn't work like in tutorials and videos. For example the main problem: when I apply Cohesion (one of three main laws of boids) it makes some "cycling knot". Second, when some flock touch to another it scary change the coordination or respawn in origin (x: 0, y:0. z:0). Just some streng things. 

I followed many tutorials, change a try everything but it isn't so smooth, without lags like in another videos. I really need your help. 

My code (optimalizing branch): https://github.com/pr033r/BachelorProject/tree/Optimalizing

Exe file (if you want to look) and models folder (for those who will download the sources):

http://leteckaposta.cz/367190436

Thanks for any help...

Untitled2.png

Advertisement
19 minutes ago, pr033r said:

I have a Bachelor project on topic "Implenet 3D Boid's algorithm in OpenGL".

I envy you, what a great topic.

22 minutes ago, pr033r said:

I read article (http://natureofcode.com/book/chapter-6-autonomous-agents/) inspirate from another code

This could be your problem, your starting way too deep. Complex subjects should be eased into.

This article was better for me than most of the stuff on the web: http://www.kfish.org/boids/pseudocode.html

It shows a concept where you design the rules separate then add them, it's a easy way to prototype your own boid set. Then later when everything works you can merge them into a efficient rule.

30 minutes ago, pr033r said: