Saving data from multiplayer game

Started by
9 comments, last by PSvils 6 years, 2 months ago

Hi,

I'm currently working on a 3D game multiplayer. I really need to save the data some where save so players can not edit it from there own computer.

Is there any way how i can make that it is saved like in a database or something also they need have accounts then so they save data for an account.

So when the game first starts up they first need to sign in or create a new account. Is there anyway i can do this on youtube there are only videos that explain how to save data for singelplayer games, i use LWJGL for all my code so i hope its possible. (I'm a bit new to LWJGL i coded before but never in this big off sorts so please do not be to hard on me :D)

Advertisement

The only form of relatively safe is keeping it all at your own server. Let users participate in a game at your server (eg by logging in and getting a copy of the game data), load/save the game data from the program at the server to whatever storage you like (data base or file, or something else, depending on what you need to do with saved games).

In particular, any data you get from a user cannot be trusted at all.

@Alberththats indeed true but then i should make that on my server are them data stored but i can't find any good wiki page or tutorial to save data to database and retreiving that data.

Standard data base access is SQL. Find a database library for your language, and do its tutorial. Common pattern is that you execute an SQL statement and then have a loop in your programming language where to write or read records.

It's not quite true that data on the users computer can't be trusted. You can trust data that has been digitally signed by the server.