Help with Low poly RPG - can I get the needed know how?

Started by
12 comments, last by settlerUnseen 6 years, 3 months ago

Hey guys,

hope to find some advice here. I'm an artist and i love drawing. But since years and years i wanted to create a video game. I have many ideas, but since i haven't a whole team i have make the 3d models low poly and not photo realistic cause that will save me time. I have created simple tutorial games in unreal and it's funny and i like it. But the problem is, i don't know if it's managable for one person to create a concept inside this engine. 
1. the time
2. to get the neccessary know how (cause i don't know if there is a tutorial for any of the features i like to implement, and I don't expect to find one for any of these.
The 3d models and textures are not the most time consuming thing. I'm relativly experienced in blender and environment is not the problem. characters will be a little struggle but i will get it.

Thought about Unreal 4 or Unity as an engine. Unreal will be better i think, unity is a good engine but for the things I want to do it's relativly limited at some edges i believe...
To show that i have a concept, here is what i need:

-Third person camera (check)
-Lock on system (it works, but haven't find a tutorial yet)
-Combat System similiar to Dark Souls/The Witcher 3 (but i don't wanna compete with them or let it look exactly like this) Exact hit system is the important thing...
-Changeable weapons and armors (not many, not out of the inventory)
-Unarmed fight/Fight with weapon change
-I don't need a quest log, but something like world events happening, influenced by the player
-I need an inventory, but only defined slots, one for item x, one for item y, one for item z. If they are blocked, no other item can be added and the player has to drop sth, or slots that can be used only for a single item in game, that is available only once.