Programming Interview questions

Started by
13 comments, last by nhold 6 years ago

Hello

I will conduct interviews for different programming roles and i need some help to prepare.  I'm creating a list of good questions to ask the candidates to be able to judge the skill level they have. Good questions do not need to have a 'correct' answer, they should be as good starting point for further discussion and questions. The questions will be sorted in sections and i pick the section depending on the role. Some of the sections is things that I'm not that good at myself, for example physics. If anyone of you have experience in the areas listed below and know good questions that you would use to probe the experience of someone please post them here to help me get better at hiring people :).

AI , Audio, C++, Console, Engine,  Gameplay, Graphics, Mathematics, Multiplayer, Optimization, Physics, Tools.

@spinningcubes | Blog: Spinningcubes.com | Gamedev notes: GameDev Pensieve | Spinningcubes on Youtube

Advertisement

Seems to be covered by countless web sites already.

The short list I know about are the standard items that have nothing to do with games:  Tell me about yourself; tell me about your strengths; tell me about your weaknesses; why do you want this job; why did you apply to this company specifically; why should we hire you.

Generally I'll also brush up on a few hours of writing some basic algorithms: practice making a linked list, a search, a sort, in-place string reversal, that type of thing.