• Advertisement

Design most important books that teach game design fundamentals

hi.

I'm a programmer that I want to learn about game design fundamentals.

as you may know there are lots of books that most of them teach the same thing. I want to know what are must to read and most important books that teach game design rules and fundamentals. 

Advertisement

The Art of Game Design: A Book of Lenses by Jesse Schell is very good.

Online, check out Daniel Cook's blog Lost Garden.  If you click "essays" at the top of the page and check the links for "worth reading" and "science of game design" you'll likely find interesting content.

Hope that helps! :)

thanks my friends. these books are great. but what about level and environment design? is there any good reference for level design?

thanks my friends. these books are great. but what about level and environment design? is there any good reference for level design?

On 5/5/2018 at 1:53 AM, moeen k said:

Level Up!: The Guide to Great Video Game Design by Scott Rogers will teach you a thing or two about level design. It's definitely worth a read.

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

• Advertisement
  • Advertisement
  • Popular Tags

• Popular Now

• Advertisement
  • Similar Content

• By Shtabbbe
      I've had a game idea for a while, and I wanted to finally try to create it.
      Its a 2D open-world tile-based MMO. The concept is it is one world and multiplayer only, so everyone shares one world no matter region, platform, etc.