Networked Physics sanity check

Started by
13 comments, last by Hodgman 5 years, 11 months ago

I'm working on the networking architecture for our game, but I'm not too experienced with multiplayer programming so I thought I'd ask for a sanity check of my ideas. Any feedback would be appreciated :D

For now, I'm assuming:
* I want to keep server CPU usage down low
* Both dedicated servers and one-client-as-server are required
* Gameplay is heavily physics simulation based, and slightly non-deterministic
* Direct client-to-client physics collisions are avoided in the gameplay (e.g. client-controlled objects pass through each other instead of colliding)
* Avoiding the ability for cheating is a high priority
* Players will have <200ms pings to the server
* Our gameplay / physics update code is very fast (think ~1ms per frame)

I'm using a server-authoritative model inspired by Quake 3 / Counter-strike, based on unreliable delta-compressed gamestate snapshots.

When connecting, the client synchronizes their wall-clock to the server's, and then sets their game clock to be 100ms ahead of the server's game clock -- i.e. every client will be extrapolating/predicting 100ms into the future.

Each frame on the client, it gathers user input and runs the game logic as usual, producing a predicted game-state. They also bundle up the last quarter-second worth of user inputs + timestamps and send them to the server (unreliable) -- the redundancy (sending old+new input snapshots instead of just the current shanpshot) is to guard against packet loss.

Each frame on the server, it will have a queue of time-stamped user inputs -- hopefully many of them will be in the future (for players with a packet trip time of under 100ms). The server consumes any inputs that are not in the future and applies them this frame. Every N frames (network update rate), the server sends a game-state snapshot to each client (using Q3 delta model).