Oculus Store (Keys Only)

Started by
4 comments, last by SillyCow 5 years, 11 months ago

Not sure if this belongs here or on the VR forum.

Since this is a rant about business practices I decided to post it in the lounge:

Just finished approving my first Oculus Rift game, and I am very frustrated.

I am a hobby developer, distributing free games of hobby quality.

I have distributed games on other platforms before: Android, Facebook, IPhone, etc...

My goal by publishing to an "app store" is to get people to play my game.

Mostly it's intended for people like you (enthusiasts on various forums) to try it out and give me feedback.

As such what I usually expect to get at the end of the process is a store page where people can download my app to their device.

Since my apps are not AAA attempts, I never expect to get much exposure. I accept the fact that I will be #150 on any store search result. It is not fair to expect any of the app stores to promote my mediocre hobby effort.

That said, I still expect the option to self promote. I still want to be able to post my store link on a dedicated Facebook page, or on the "your announcements" forums, and give enthusiasts access to my work.

And this is where Oculus upset me:

I submitted my game to Oculus, and they approved it as "keys only.".

"keys only" means that I have to give out *one-off*  keys to people so that they can download my app.

It means that I cannot post URLs of said game and let people download it ( I need to provide each person with a unique key ).

To add insult to injury, Oculus required me to drop Steam OpenVR support before reviewing my app, and also add their "entitlement" DRM to make sure it doesn't run without their permission.

I spent a day after I had the game ported to oculus adding and testing all of this boring DRM stuff. I could have just uploaded a DRM-free Steam + Oculus executable without going through the trouble of uploading to the store.