lost in learning programming as I just left "Beginner's zone"

Started by
15 comments, last by davejones 5 years, 10 months ago

I guess my level could be classified as "just left Beginner's zone", so, gone through a lot of beginner's programming tutorials already, still junior and the problem is I don't know what's next.

I mean, I found a lot of tutorials for beginners everywhere, and the next things I found everywhere are beautiful and complicated source code on Github:

tutorials for beginners -- materials for "Grade 1 students" to learn

beautiful and complicated source code on Github (not the beginner type of source code) -- materials for "Phd students" to learn

However, what's in between? After I learned the Grade 1 materials I can't just directly jump to Phd level, I am trying to find the Grade 2,3,4,5,6 level materials to learn, right? Didn't find a lot of those. I am still a junior programmer.

When I finished the beginner's programming tutorials I feel like leaving the Beginner's zone, no guidance anymore.

I'm in LA, game programming is not like web programming,etc; there are some web programming bootcamps, but not game programming bootcamps, sad.

Maybe as a junior programmer it is too much for me to request the market/youtube/online learning websites to produce structured intermediate level materials for learning game programming?

It is also possible that I misjudge my own levels so I don't know where I am, therefore don't know what I should aim for next.

The demo of the game I made for practice, somehow showing my level:
https://youtu.be/RNAXWTQOQ2E
The video about programming of my game, somehow showing my level:
https://youtu.be/mi26UiFwvqY
Github:
https://github.com/nancyivy/Game_for_practice

I would be grateful if you give me advice like:
"you are still in beginner's zone", or
"you can do xxx in your game to improve yourself", or
"you may do xxx in programming to improve yourself"
or anything else.